Follow pictorial reports on events posted in this blog via Facebook. Click HERE

Monday, April 30, 2012

Of Melaka Chess Festival - GM Czebe Triumphant

After 8 days and 9 rounds, GM Attila Czebe was crown the undisputed champion of the inaugural Historical Melaka International Chess Championship 2012. When asked about his achievement, a smiling Czebe said that he was surprised but happy with the results and seemingly convinced that he will be back again next year to defend his title. The first time visitor to Malaysia took home RM 10,000 cash prize, a medal and proudly holds aloft the Rt. Hon. Chief Minister of Melaka Challenge Trophy with a big smile. 
A smiling Hungarian, GM Czebe with his winning trophy!

GM Laxman came in second after his draw on Table 2 with IM Karthikeyan who came in 4th. GM Deepan who started with the idea of stealing a game point from Czebe on Table 1 finally decided to settle for a draw and ended in 3rd place. GM Holmes of Spain also played well to hold off a charging GM Richard Bitoon of the Philippines on Table 3 and took 5th place with his opponent taking the 7th spot.

Focus is on the 6th placed player, Yeoh Li Tian of Malaysia, the only non titled player and the youngest, and the only Malaysian amongst the top 10 finishers. It was a repeat of his Brunei performance and similarly, he also missed his IM norm due to the lack of rating points to amass such a norm. 
Yeoh Li Tian receiving his certificate and medal from YB Dato Gan

Rounding up the top 10 are Russian GM Alexander Fominyh at 8th placing, top seed GM Arun Prasad of India at 9th and IM Karthikeyan also of India at 10th spot.

In the Challenger section, early leader Gatot Suyono lost his last round game to Malaysian Eddyy Fong paving ways for Endang Andrian to steal the top spot. Gatot came in second followed by Wakoko Enos of Ugand in 3rd. 
Mohd Ezmi receiving his certificate from Tan Sri Ramli for finishing 10th in the Challenger section
With his last round win over Gatot, Eddy Fong was able to pull himself up to 4th spot followed by Indonesian youngster Yuranda Irawan at 5th. Malaysian lass Latifah Syamimi came in at 6th followed by Pekan, Pahang youngster Muhd Asyraf Razman at 7th spot. Suci Rohaya of Indonesia takes up the 8th placing followed by Lum Zhun Hoong at 9th and Mohd Ezmi rounding up the 10th spot.

VVIP on stage prior to the prize giving ceremony. YB Dato Gan, Melaka Exco for Education, Youth and Sports who is also the Organizing Chairman, is seated in the center flanked by MCF President, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah Talib to his right
MCF President Tan Sri Ramli gave away the prizes for the Challenger section whilst YB Dato Gan who is representing Rt Hon Chief Minister of Melaka, gave away the main prizes for the International section.


  1. Salam Mr. Najib,
    Sy Muhammad Zuhairi.Sy br perasan sy entitled for 3rd malaccan for challenger category.Can I collect this prize?

  2. Salam Zuhairi... Kamu harus menghubungi En Gregory Lau untuk membuat tuntutan tersebut.